Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that criminal education during the prison period is the most effective method to prevent crimes. I utterly disagree with this statement compared to other alternatives which are early-year education for all residents and stricter punishments for offenders. To begin with, instead of educating criminals, early education is more useful. This is because prevention is better than cure. In other words, it is much easier to control normal people than to fix already offenders because when ordinary citizens have the right mindset and are aware of crimes, they will avoid committing them. Likewise, students can learn about crimes in early-year schools, and then they might be afraid of doing such bad actions as adults. For example, some Asian countries are educating secondary students to avoid committing criminal behaviour. As a result, these nations have less crime rates compared to non-educated ones. Additionally, criminal rates can be curbed by more stringent rules by governments. This means that governments can intervene and issue stricter guidelines when it comes to crimes, therefore, residents can be afraid of committing crimes. These evolved more rigorous punishments such as longer prison time or heavy fines. For instance, when some did stealing crimes, they could be in prison instead of just paying fines. Therefore, stealing rates will be decreased due to those strict laws. To conclude, I hold the belief that criminal behaviour can be capped by some viable measures such as education before people do wrong actions and a system of serious rules for those who commit crimes.