More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measure outweigh the drawbacks?

Recently, in some countries, an increasing number of offenders is posing a threat to the society. Hence, more and more security cameras, surveilance equipments are prevail application in large urban areas to protect innocent people. This arrangement, despite seemingly disadvantageous in certain aspects, actually possesses merits that, in my opinion, would overshadow the drawbacks. Regarding the drawbacks of using security cameras to deter crime, some people belive that the police has invaded their own privacy, and freedom. These days, the extensive of using special surveilance equipments is hardly escapable, to the point that the people may find themselves surrounded by those every walking moment. It does not matter where they are, they still being watched for 24 hours. Whether they are on the street, in the supermarket, or on a way home, images of their faces and their movement will be recorded and sent to the security organisations, ready to be analysed if necessary. Many people belive their right, their privacy are not be respected, and this action would be a violation of privacy. In spite of the above arguments, I’m inclined to think the pros outweigh the cons. First and foremost, the most overwhelming advantage is that police can easily track the criminals once an individual commit an offence. Those devices can deter young offenders or potential criminals from breaking the laws, because they know that themselves being under the surveilance of cutting-edge devices. Furthermore, it would greatly contribute to reducing terrorist attacks, thanks to the data and images from these cameras, which are used to detect unusual activities of any individual in public places. The installation of more video cameras in urban areas is cost effective, and unobtrusive, while the goverment do not have to allocate too much money on the police forces. More importantly, this application will protect the society from any threat and provide a sense of safety and security to the people. In a nutshell, the use of surveilance cameras as crime detterance utterance is being increased in many big cities around the world. I hold the view that this application bring more merits than drawbacks, albeit objection of some people.