Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a fierce debate among whether children use smartphones for long hours is a positive or negative trendency. I basically believe the advantages of this development outshine the disadvantages of it, but we still cannot ignore the drawbacks that smartphones bring to children. The reason why some children spend many time on smartphones may results from the technology. It is more convenient for the younger nowadays to have an access to digital devices than before, since it is common to have these gadgets in many families in modern society. Admittedly, spending too much time on smartphones may be responsible for several problems, such as health issues. To illustrate, there is a increase number of people suffering from eye problems, which is undoubtly caused by their habit of overuse digital devices. Besides, using cell phone for a long time makes it possible for kids to enjoy their childhood, since they are usually attached to the internet and ignore things that happen around them. Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I still think that it is a positive trend that children spend hours on their smartphones. Firstly, with the technology developing in a high speed, only those people who are well equipped with sufficient knowledge and have the ability to absorb new things quickly will be needed in the future. Secondly, since globalization has become a unpreventable development, having the skills to interact with people from different cultures and countries became necessary as well, and I think that it is better to start training this ability from childhood. Smartphones, which make it easier for children to gain the newest information, serve as an important part in helping them exploring Change the form of the verb explore show examples the world. For example, children are able to make friends through the internet, even though playing online games may give opportunities to meeting friends from different countries. In conclusion, although many people hold the idea that spending a long time on smartphones will have negative impact on children, I personally still believe that the pros of using these gadgets will outweight the cros.