Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

There is a trend in recent years that things we buy are covered with extra packaging for safety reasons. However, over-wrapped products are considered not very useful and increase paper waste. A certain group claims that it is the customers ' responsibility to avoid over-packaged products. However, some individuals contend that sellers are the ones who should take action to minimalize the overly wrapped parcels. On the one hand, there is a belief in business culture that buyers, as the ones who buy the products have the right to decide what kind of packaging they can choose, in order to make sure that their products are safe. Due to this belief, sellers usually follow the requests of the consumers to gain their trust. It should not be avoided that recently, there are so much news about packages which are damaged in logistic service, and as a result, the phenomena influencing the buyers to put extra bubble wrap in their purchased items. For this reason, it seems like the manufacturer does not hold so much power to decide the type of items packaging. On the other hand, individual research conducted in 2018 stated that only 30% of consumers care about how their goods are packaged, as their focus is solely on the arrival time of their purchased items. If the logistic service that producers used to send the items is reputable enough and holds some integrity, the issues of safety that are frequently questioned by buyers are solved. The producers could manage to minimize the overly wrapped parcels without the consumers' consent, as the customers' main focus is towards the arrival time of their items. In my personal view, this method will be more efficient and effective rather than entrusting this issue to customers. To conclude, minimizing the over-packaged products is an issue that should be noticed by both producers and customers. Nevertheless, it can be said that it is more effective for the sellers to take responsibility for minimizing the package. It should be noticed too that the safety of the goods is guaranteed even though the packaging is minimalized.