Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Current affairs are the essence of national issues and the problems any country is facing at the moment. To keep a check on them, is the responsibility of every individual. Keeping an eye on newspapers and popular talk shows is the best way to do this. However, in recent times, adolescents are showing the least interest in such programmes. This, in my opinion, is not a very good trend and this habit is going to drift them apart from their responsibilities towards the country. There are various reasons for it and I would like to shed light on some important points below. Firstly, with the advent of technology, juveniles have now many options to keep themselves entertained. For instance, they have Netflix, video games and social media to enjoy and this has made news boring and dry knowledge for them. Most parents keep their kids busy in these activities from a younger age and fail to teach the importance of the country's affairs to them. As they grow up, they continue to do the same. So, it is the duty of the guardian that he or she should instil in children, love and responsible behaviour for the nation at an early age and should discuss with them, this topic. Secondly, our history and current affairs should be an important subject at the school level. Topics should be included in the course books as well as related books should be easily available in the library. For example, a special prize can be given to kids showing a high level of knowledge about this subject. To conclude, I will say that our future generations will only be able to achieve the bigger goals for the country when we will teach them the problems we are facing at a young age. Although, it is going to take a long time, we should start working on it as soon as possible for our nation.