Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Owing to the development of medical science, people are able to live longer ever than past. Nowadays, the life span of humans has expanded when compared with the past. Some people believe elderly people creates more problem while others think it is a benefit for society. This essay would discuss what are the pros and cons of ageing people, and how they become impact the community. I strongly trust that there are several advantages that can be obtained from the elders. On the one hand, people are mature with obtaining experiences related to the field which they have engaged with. Accordingly, it will be a considerable impact on society. For instance, in Sri Lankan government has decided to intake retired consulting doctors to provide their service to the general public. Because they have become expertise during their career. Moreover, their knowledge and experiences can be shared with the younger generation. On the other hand, when people become ageing, they may need more care about their lives. Therefore, they required help from other people. For example, Sri Lanka, consists of 20% of elders among the total population. Hence, the government should pay attention and have to allocate a considerable amount for their needs such as medical expenses and financial requirements. However, the government is facing difficulties to allocate its budget for them. To conclude, it is obvious even though authorities have to spend a considerable amount of money on elderly people, their knowledge and experience are also valuable and valid for society. There are a number of strengths accompanied by older people than weakness. Thus, I accept they have a valuable group of people in current society.