Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

Many believe that cities should grow vertically to tackle the problem of population increase. Others argue that it would be better to decentralize them. In this essay, I would argue that moving towards tall cities is more beneficial for overpopulated areas as it will ensure saving land for other important usages like agriculture or setting up businesses; further, it provides the opportunity for spreading the city in the future. One of the reasons for leaning toward vertical constructions rather than horizontal ones is that it concentrates residential fields in compacted skyscrapers and does not waste precious land that can be used for farming or establishing company sites. There are limitations in utilizing space, and as a result, the use of them should be managed carefully by the authorities. One of the logical approaches to this management is to minimize the areas allocated for residential purposes. For instance, New York and Shanghai suffer from overcrowding, therefore, their states opted to shift construction toward tall cities. The more influx of citizens into a city, the more urge for building tall structures and concentrating the population. Moreover, limited use of land due to spreading the city vertically, enables the city to grow rapidly. It will open opportunities for more construction as more regions are available for exploitation. As a consequence, the city's buildings and necessary infrastructures can improve and provide a suitable environment for its growth. Chicago, for example, had begun to shift toward a tall city from its early stages of growth, and thus, the inhabitants are aware of the city's potential even after it was recognized as one of the most overcrowded places in the United States. By contrast, Los Angelis spread horizontally, resulting in hindrances to finding space for development. In conclusion, I would argue that it is advantageous to select vertical city patterns because not only more space would be available for businesses and companies, but also it will make it possible for the city to develop in the future.