In some countries, there are more young people choosing to enroll in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that a professional degree is quite essential in order to get a job that requires a high level of qualification. Others argue that it is optional due to the time spent in university and personal necessities. This essay will compare these two points of view, showing that the advantages of opting for work-based training do not overshadow the drawbacks. Firstly, some people need to have more than one job out of necessity, and then the priority will be to enroll in specialized training because it is fast to conclude. So, the salary for specific work that does not have a tertiary education could be fair, and it can be necessary for the community. For instance, a welder and a jointer are professions in demand in Canada, and these types of professionals are specialized and could have a good return. Therefore, necessity and professional development are essential in an occupation chosen. Despite these advantages, many jobs require a high grade of qualification and knowledge that universities provide. Moreover, some Universities partner with companies for their undergraduates to begin an apprenticeship with a satisfactory salary or have a scholarship program to ensure financial help throughout their studies. For example, the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro has a program that helps students financially that their families have gained about one salary and a half. Hence, students could have an opportunity to attend University and, as a result, gain an invaluable education. In summary, this essay approached that the advantages of having work-based training, such as the fast qualification with an acceptable return, are not overloaded with the disadvantages which occur when the job requirements of a high-level education and specialization.