Some people think that the Olympic Games is an exciting event and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The Olympics is considered the leading international sporting event, with thousands of athletes worldwide taking part. While some may question the role of the game, claiming that it is a waste of money, I believe that we should not obscure the good that comes from bonding the world closer. It can bring peace and harmony to the world because it unites all countries together and invites the best athletes across the globe, exchanging different cultures, customs, and beliefs. Today, participating in the sports event is high on many countries’ agendas. For the host, it is a great chance to showcase its social values to other countries. As to the visitors and local populace, they are offered the perfect opportunity to communicate with others from a whole variety of backgrounds, regardless of their colours and races. Sporting events like the Olympics are one of the few occasions where all of us are willing to learn to understand and appreciate each other over differences and disputes, and therefore it is widely acknowledged that they are beneficial to humanity. However, the costs of hosting the game have skyrocketed, while the economic benefits are not guaranteed. This has led to controversy over whether it is worthwhile to hold them. For example, the 2020 Tokyo Olympics faced unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, increasing the games’ already record-setting investment. Tokyo is not alone in facing a multibillion-dollar bill for holding it. Other former host cities are still struggling with debt, leading some potential candidates competing for the hosting right to withdraw their bids. Therefore, the International Olympic Committee should take this issue into serious consideration and provide methods to lighten the financial burden of staging such big events. To conclude, I believe in the unifying power of the Olympic Games to bring the whole world together in peaceful competitions, and in the meanwhile, the economics of hosting it should be taken seriously.