Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Developing technologies change relation to handwriting, reading books, getting information. In the present age, whether maintaining public libraries provides more benefits than seems just a waste of money has sparked much debate. Modern computer technology replaces library functions. For instance, John (who is a scientist in microbiology) wants to find a monograph in virology. He can spend two hours on the way to the library and returning and at least 20 min to find the unnecessary book. Add to this time spending to return the book. In contrast, John can use the internet, use search sources and in a few minutes find the necessary information from this monograph. Thus, visiting public libraries is a time consuming procedure. Time is the most expensive thing, so maintaining state libraries is a waste of money in the contemporary world. In contrast, we should value buildings with books, as Mark Avrelius said it is a castle of knowledge. Computers, internet, etc. start to destroy this castle. Libraries are places where people can feel calmness and wisdom. In case we avoid visiting such places, we avoid ourselves calmness and wisdom. Convincing arguments can be made about libraries benefits. It’s about working. Libraries closing will lead to job loss. That can have a negative influence on the economic situation because of the increase in unemployment. To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to, thus I firmly believe modern society needs to balance between both critical points. The key is to save public libraries, but to decrease its amount for qualified useful work.