If people go to live in another country, they should follow the local customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that when a person shifts to another nation, they should accustom themselves to the local traditions and rules. While there are reasons for one to stick to their own beliefs, I completely agree with this proposal and some benefits can be gained from it. On the one hand, it is advantageous to adapt themselves to the target place's culture. Firstly, the adaptation would help them be a part of the community and not feel lonely in a new environment. Additionally, it would help them make friends and socialise with society and help them integrate instead of being a foreigner among the locals and feeling dejected. For instance, if they did not respect and accept these customs, it would have detrimental impacts on their settlement and their career path. Lastly, this effort would help them excel among their peers in their workplace or college. However, the opinion that the individual should continue following their home customs can be beneficial to both the new inhabitant and the host country. Accordingly, it helps humans to have a sense of home and practising their values can help them maintain their sanity and have a sense of belonging to their motherland. Furthermore, it also the natives are also exposed to new heritage and increase their knowledge about a minority. Hence, it also helps them attract immigrants to their land. For instance, the globalisation of Halloween is a common festive around the world. In conclusion, I can understand why they want to maintain their old customs, but I would argue that it is more beneficial for them to comply with the traditions in the destination.