The best way to get people to use their cars less is to make them pay a road toll to drive on busy roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that the best way to solve traffic issues resulting in fewer cars on the road is by giving them a toll for private motor vehicle proprietors when they drive on busy roads. The funds collected could be allocated to improving public systems and facilities. The solution has its own positives and I heavily agree with this stance. Firstly, charging personal automobile owners with a road tax and allocating the fund for improving and developing alternative ways to commute brings a lot of benefits to society. It is undeniable that with the introduction of this idea, the number of car owners will gradually decrease and the traffic congestion problems would slowly decline. As a result, the community could commute faster and work more effectively and efficiently and air pollution would be reduced. Secondly, the additional revenue collected could be used to improve existing infrastructure. For example, the ministry could create plans to replace all the current train system and bus systems with new ones which consume fuel efficiently and are more comfortable for passengers. Consequently, users would feel more comfortable using the facilities offered by the government, thus resulting in a cleanly greener city. On the other hand, while Singapore has successfully implemented a system to reduce overall congestion, other countries have not been as fortunate. For example, when the local government of Cambridge, England, considered a similar approach, it faced opposition from the public. People in Cambridge expressed their anger on social media and even held rallies to protest the plan. To conclude, the solution of charging private car users with tolls on busy roads to reduce congestion problems has its own benefits and drawbacks. The advantages of this are that the general public could travel faster and air pollution would be reduced. However, the disadvantages of it are that it would become a big problem for those who lived in remote areas since public transport are rarely reaching them and also cause unemployment issues.