In some countries, owing a home rather than renting is very important. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that possessing a house is more essential than renting in some countries. This essay will first elaborate on the cause of this phenomenon, and I will give my opinion regarding it. To begin with, the main reason for this trend is that paying a mortgage after purchasing a building is more economical than spending dollars on rent. When it comes to the former, people can obtain their own places after paying all mortgages to banks, whilst there is nothing which individuals can get from renting a space once they move out. Furthermore, because the latter is as expensive as the former, buying one’s own place is more reasonable than remaining tenants. Given these beneficial aspects, I totally agree with this development. Firstly, possessing their own space let individuals have stabilities with regard to their lives. For instance, if one person is struggling financially while having his own home, what matters is not a big amount of rent but every meal. In addition, people in need are able to sell their houses when they desperately need money. Moreover, those who own their building can make additional money through the home. Once they have their own place, they can look for flatmates whom they can share their space with. Furthermore, they can even let others rent their place, which enables them to make a profit. In conclusion, since there are a number of advantages of owning one’s house, I firmly believe that the current trend of trying to possess a home is a positive one.