Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

These days, as the popularity of junk food has increased, many people are suffering from more serious illnesses than in the past. Therefore, some governments are concern to raise taxes to tackle this problem. In this essay, I will outline why I agree with the idea that taxes should be raised to maintain individuals' health. The main reason why increasing the tax on junk food is important is to reduce the chance to create health issues. Although junk food has been popular for any generation because it is convenient and affordable price, it contributes people to eating much more unhealthy food which contains sugar, oil and salt. According to the studies, consumers who have lots of fast food tend to get more physical problems, such as diabetes, obesity and heart attack than people who have less. Hence, if government impose a higher tax on unhealthy food, it could be a solution to minimise the consumption of junk food. Additionally, this help to maintain the individuals' health in a good way. The other advantage is raising the tax on unhealthy meals is using the money for people who are struggling with health issues. For instance, getting medical treatment for diabetes requires a large amount of money. Therefore, if government impose more tax on junk food and establish a new support network or provide medications with using the tax money, it would definitely be a great outcome for the individuals. In conclusion, although why the government should increase tax on fast food was discussed, the popularity of the kind of meal growing continuously. In my opinion, people should not rely everything on their government to solve this problem. They have to be aware that what they are facing and make effort, such as healthy eating habits or physical excerises exercise to keep their health.