It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is becoming highly common to take a year gap between high school and university. The benefits are better course selection and time for self-development; however, the drawbacks are the delay of a year in starting the career and it would become a burden on parents in terms of expenses. One benefit is that young adult who has just completed his school studies might need time to select the best course for them. In other words, they would be able to select the best course which is highly suitable for them since they would have a year to decide. Further, they can use this one year for their self-improvement. That is to say, they would have time for doing work on themselves which could have a huge impact on their personality development. For instance, it has been hugely noticed that people who have taken a gap between school and university are more confident. The one disadvantage is that it would lead to delays in careers. In other words, people who would take a gap would lack behind those who have not taken thus it might have a negative impact on their career. Furthermore, the cost of living would become a burden on their parents. That is why their mother and father might not allow them to take this time off as their children would not earn anything during this period. For example, in India, young adults who take any time off between high school and university become a burden on their parents. In conclusion, it is becoming common among young adults to take a year gap between college and high school. The merits of this are the best selection of courses in college and extra time for self-development; however, the demerits are the delay in starting their future life and they might become a responsibility to their mother and father.