In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising is the easiest and most usable way for corporations to promote their products. They can rely on celebrities, or set a positive image without any details of what they are selling. However, the most common way is to show a certain feature which they want to emphasize. In some businesses, there is a new trend to make ads focusing on the new aspects of their items. This might be the basic method to sell things they produce. This essay will explore the reason for this trend and the pros and cons also. To begin with, some people think that this trend would be a good chance to be informed about what is new in a certain market. For example, one of my colleagues bought a new cell phone right after she saw the advertisement. Since that advert pronounced the improved camera performance and at that time, she was looking for a resort which can alternate a telescope whenever she went to concerts. This could be a pro of this trend. On the other hand, my view on this issue is quite opposite. Advertising usually convinces the community to buy something constantly. As a result, a lot of folks purchase something which are not really necessary. For instance, all society has cell phones so we don't need to purchase another one since they function well enough. However, brand-new aspects in ads always catch people's eyes and appeal consumers to pay for something unnecessary. This is the first and the worst cons. This atmosphere often leads to consumerism and it naturally gives rise to concerns about overused resources. I can take my experience as an example. I bought a new food container a few weeks ago through a SNS promotion. The advert showed the new function that could store vegetables for a longer time than the previous ones. People including me who purchased this commodity would think that it was a good way not to waste food. However, I started to purchase more foods because I had a belief that the containers would keep these foods well. In other words, I rather spent more compared to the past. This is the last cons of this trend. It could produce a tremendous trash problem. To sum up, this trend would be useful for some people. However, it generally tends to cause consumerism, resource overuse, and pollution. For these reasons, emphasizing too much on new aspects would be a bad idea.