Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, smartphones have become a vital part of modern life, and a growing number of young people are sacrificing daily hours for using ones to serve for their entertainment and studying demands. From my perspective, this trend has some potential detrimental impacts on children. There are immense reasons for the phenomenon. Firstly, a large number of functions and applications are integrated into the cell phones. Young individuals with curiosity by nature, they are easily attracted by simulation games, renewable functions and some similar ones. In addition, the growing dominance of social networks is one of the reasons leading to a long concentration span of children on the mobiles. To illustrate, a wide range of entertaining and studying resources make children willing to spend a long time discovering and updating the latest information and knowledge. For example, Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms in Vietnam, where everyone can access any given subject or even keep contact with their friends in a far-off distance. There are some adverse effects which are accompanied by the phenomenon. First of all, a numerous number of young generations lack interpersonal skills, especially communication skills. This is because they spend too much time in the virtual world and just talk with others via texting instead of verbal communication. For instance, if a youngster gets accustomed to communicating by texting, he will struggle to talk with his friends in real-world conversation. Secondly, children ’s physical health can be threatened because of a lack of outdoor activities. The young immerse in virtual video games inside the cell phones, they sacrifice invitations of physical activities with their friends, parents and other people. Gradually, a sedentary lifestyle is established, which may result in obesity of the young generation. In conclusion, it seems to me that children have a vast number of reasons to use the smartphone, however I firmly hold the view that excessive reliance can lead to some negative effects.