Succesful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is apparent that athletes such as football players, tennis stars, or basketball superstars earn an incomprehensible amount of money as their salary. A great number of people believe this is quite unjust to doctors and engineers who receive but a small fraction of an athlete’s income. My personal view is that athleticism is a valid occupation, and the fact that many enjoy watching them perform is barely any of their faults. The upcoming paragraphs will explore both sides of this argument. The prevalent assumption that workers in sports have it easy is completely false. In fact, they have a diet they cannot stray from, together with an intense workout program that none of us would willingly do. Moreover, their mental health is heavily affected by the constant and ongoing criticism from fans, coaches, teammates, friends, and even family. On top of that, 97% of the time they receive highly destructive remarks, regarding certain performances. Subsequently, they are always under immense pressure, whilst also being under the microscope. What makes matters worse, is that they must remain open-minded and stoic all the time, which is essentially impossible. Ultimately, they are humans, and humans have a peak of tolerance for unpleasant comments and nasty insults. Not to mention, sportspeople are celebrities in the sense that they are never left alone in peace. Furthermore, their families are eventually stalked as well. Amidst all of this mess, they must remain focused, and work hard for their team. On the other hand, one can understand where someone is coming from when they argue that it is unfair for engineers and doctors to receive a wage so microscopic in relation to the average athlete’s finances. Indeed, without football players we would live just fine. However, life would cease to exist without our dear physicians and excellent architects. Watching a person run with a ball is undoubtedly entertaining, but what if they fall and injure themself? Thereafter, a surgeon would come to their rescue, unbiased and faithful to their oath. In conclusion, it is no secret athletes generate loads of views and revenue. In my opinion, they deserve everything they get in return. Therefore, the real issue evident to me is that doctors and engineers are under-appreciated and underpaid.