The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, tourism all around the globe has increased drastically. Leading the population to explore new languages and different cultures, but some people argue that this has led the English language to gain popularity around the world, moreover, few others even believe English would be the only vocabulary used to communicate in the universe. This essay will put some light on the advantages and disadvantages of having a universal tone for communicating. To commence, I would spare some light on the pros of having one medium of communication. Firstly, most tourists face a language barrier when trying to explore a new place and their culture, but if we have one expression that is used all over the globe it will make enhance the experience of the visit and even help the person to respect the culture of the country with more grace and appreciation. For instance, a recent study showed that 21st-century tourists were able to enjoy their holiday more in comparison to visiter back in the 1890s, because of the reduced gap of language barrier. However, this situation is like a coin which comes with a phase of cons. Having one accent to communicate can lead to multiple wars. To begin, people born in English-speaking countries will start feeling superior to those who are born in some other country with a different mother tongue, and this can lead to disturbing situations. For example, a recent survey indicated, most of the tourists have started suppressing locals of the country they are visiting just on the aspect of language. To conclude, it is great to have a common language to communicate in order to improve the experience of a visit but one has to be mindful enough to know that it is just a form of communication and not a sign of power over the local communities.