Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely accepted that watching movies in cinemas has been a predominant source of entertainment. However, some proponents argue that there are new options for streaming, replacing movie houses. I completely agree with the given statement and will be supporting my stand with pertinent arguments. To begin with, multiplexes play a crucial role in everyone's life by providing entertainment. There are a number of factors that have contributed to the replacement of movie houses by digital streaming platforms. To explain further, in earlier days, people preferred going to the cinema as it was considered the only option for outings. In contrast, nowadays due to the great invention of technology, the community has many alternatives for OTT (over-the-top) platforms such as Amazon Prime, Disney+, Netflix, and so on, which is an affordable mode for entertainment. Consequently, in lieu of spending more money to buy tickets, people prefer to sit comfortably at home and enjoy flicks. For instance, in Australia, the standard cost for a movie ticket is approximately $25, whereas a Netflix membership is worth $14 per month, which makes the latter reasonable. Furthermore, in this modern era, people are under a significant amount of work pressure. Also, they cannot ignore their professional life and social life. Hence, they do not want to waste a huge chunk of their time going to the movies. To illustrate, studies have shown that since 2018 the sales of film show tickets have dropped by 40 per cent, whereas more are signing up for streaming services. To conclude, although cinema shows provide more enjoyment to watching movies, digital streaming services are more affordable and convenient.