Some people think that travel is necessary to learn about other nations. Others however think TV and internet are best way to learn about other countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that travelling is necessary for learning about other nations. Others argue that watching and reading the media is a better way of learning about other countries. In my opinion, both ideas have their merits and benefits. In this essay, I will further elaborate on the two thoughts and give my personal opinion. On the one hand, learning about other nations through the Internet and TV is a more organized option of learning for those who are unable to travel. The web provides more information, however, it is very limiting. You will not be able to enjoy the food, or interact with the people and media coverage varies in different perceptions. For example, a couple from Florida might enjoy Hawaii, but a man from Alaska might find it uncomfortable. There will always never be a concrete viewpoint, your perception will mostly be comprised of assumptions. On the other hand, travelling can be a hassle, it requires extensive planning and money that very few can afford. However, it is the most ideal way to experience and learn first-hand about a nation. It will give you the opportunity to interact with the locals and experience food you have never tasted. You will find yourself more active on a journey in real life than on your computer. Circling back to my opinion, I suggest combining the two thoughts. Learning about a place beforehand can give some clarity before deciding to go, going in blind is incredibly risky so it is always best to learn a few facts about the place. In conclusion, one cannot exist without the other, in this case, it is better to rely on both media coverage and experience to conclude