Some people think watching television is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whether exposure to TV is detrimental to the young generation in all respects has been a constant discussion in our society. In general, I think it may bring some benefits for them to acquire knowledge and widen their horizons if the screen time is well-controlled. It is true that some adults tend to believe that screen time is absolutely harmful to underage viewers. They are worried that a proportion of programs, especially those with inappropriate content such as violent images can spoil their mindset. Because their brains, habits, and values are developing at a critical time, misbehaviour and distorted viewpoints on screens may easily lead to misguided development. However, television can be informative and educational when adults have control over what programs they are allowed to access. Today, there are many well-produced age-appropriate shows that aim to help the young generation who are curious about new experiences to perceive the world around them. Besides, compared to other sources of information, with vivid pictures and sound effects, TV can be a more appealing way for the underage to obtain knowledge since they have shorter attention spans than adults. What is more, when it comes to educational shows targeted at children such as Sesame Street, watching them with parents can make the learning process more conducive to them. Instead of being the recipient of information sitting in front of a screen, they are more likely to understand the contents better in the back-and-forth interaction with parents. To conclude, under the guidance and company of parents, watching television is an advantageous method for children to access knowledge.