Some people think that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some claim that students should prefer to study business to history because of its importance to our community. However, I do not think there is sufficient reason to underestimate the role of studying the past. It is true that studying trade helps learners gain an edge in understanding basic economic principles, evaluating the impact of domestic and international events on markets, and assessing the financial health of a company etc. Combined, these factors can lead to more informed investment decisions and ultimately promote economic development for society as a whole. Business literacy is therefore essential for survival and the long-term progress of society. However, it is argued that we should tip the balance in favour of learning history since it can not only strengthen our national identity but make us wiser according to past experiences. For one thing, historical heritages help citizens stay connected to their roots and learn to appreciate the contribution of their ancestors. As a result, we are more likely to grow into proud citizens. A man who is proud of his or her own native culture can be strong in adversity. If the sense of identity is lost, problems would follow, such as the loss of initiative in the international arena. Furthermore, at a time when so much is happening to change the way we work and live, the way individuals relate to one another, and the way every country links to the rest of the world, gaining more knowledge and a better understanding of the past worldwide is crucial. This is because local history teaches one what is distinctive about a particular land, whilst world history helps him or her think about the characteristics that all humanity embraces. Therefore, studying this kind of subject prepares the minds for international experience, which is the key to driving a nation to be more involved in international affairs. In conclusion, studying history offers a crucial means of retaining cultural identity and participating in the solution of global issues, which deserves as much attention as studying business.