The government should reduce the amount of moeny spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, many are of the belief that governments should spend more money on global environmental issues rather than those in local areas. In my opinion, I strongly oppose this viewpoint, which will be further discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, it is unrealistic for the government to counter international environmental dilemmas. To be more specific, the problems may be located in different countries, which are definitely out of their power and authority. What is more, even if they spend money there, not only would it be hard to keep track of the fund, but it will also raise public backlash since they care for the issues of the world more than their own country. By spending money on improving the local environment, governments are already lessening the adversity of these issues on a global scale. In addition, if they manage to solve their country’s problems effectively, their work can also be great examples for other nations to follow, hence would be much more sensible in the long run. However, some people will argue that only by addressing the national environment, the government will be seen as not caring about world issues, hence may not receive favours from other countries when they experience difficulties. Although this opinion bears some truth on the surface, it pales in comparison to the influence that the authorities can achieve when they manage to solve their own problems. Indeed, if governments help in tackling such global dilemmas without ineffectively addressing their local ones, they may receive considerably less reliability in the eyes of those in other nations. What is more, their opinions may be underestimated, which would be a waste of their time, effort and money. Therefore, only when governments have successfully curtailed environmental issues in their countries can their effort to help other countries be genuine and trustworthy. In conclusion, I am against the idea that the authorities should fund global environmental issues more than local ones because it is impractical and far-fetched. By effectively addressing the problems of their own nation, governments will encourage others as well as give them ideas so they can work in their own countries.