The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, people communicate through face-to-face interaction. Nowadays, those types of interaction have been largely supplanted by social media. While utilizing these modern platforms have significant benefits, especially for education, I concede its drawbacks of having influenced youngsters in order that they are unable to speak to each other adequately and also the extensive use of it will pose a great risk of depression. One of the main advantages of social media is that it is a great boon to the education sector. This option has provided teachers with tools for supervising their students and giving them feedback on their studies whenever necessary. By contrast, previously, they had neither sufficient communication tools nor enough time to monitor their students’ development. However, it has, indeed, multiple disadvantages to consider. Firstly, these new platforms can degrade the quality of interaction between people. This is because these platforms enable consumers to share ideas without the benefit of sufficient reactions. These face-to-face reactions are the most important aspect of communication as they will shape our way of speech, and further, teach us musts and must-not in a simple interaction. Consequently, this knowledge will be worsened due to consuming social media extensively. Secondly, by using these emotionless platforms, individuals may fall into severe depression. Humans are interacting with each other in order to feel and receive attention through one’s reaction to our inputs. Using social media limits these reactions to a simple like or a comment which can cause depression through one’s misapprehension and assume that he is not getting enough attention. For instance, the advent of social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter in the 2000s was followed by a parallel rise in the level of depression in Western societies. In conclusion, I would argue that the use of social media for daily communication has a number of benefits such as educational advancements whereas I believe these channels of communication have degraded the level of interaction as well as causing depression in society.