increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued that the best method to tackle the record high level of pollution and the increasing traffic congestion is by increasing the cost of petrol, however, I completely disagree with this idea. I believe that there are variety of ways to solve these issues without imposing a financial burden on people. There are two main reasons why I am strongly against raising petrol prices. Firstly, any increase in the cost of petrol will be followed by an increase in the prices of almost all products and services. Therefore, people who are already struggling financially will suffer the most. In a recent survey, it was found that almost half of the households with a monthly income of two thousand pounds have a great difficulty when paying their bills. Secondly, increasing the price of petrol alone will not help withreducing pollution or traffic congestion if no other measures or solutions are taken, as this has been tried before in Ghana and has failed to produce any significant difference in the existing problems. In my opinion, there are two approaches to solving the problems of traffic congestion and pollution. Governments should build factories for electrical cars and should make buying a new one tax-free. By doing so, they will encourage buying such cars which are environment-friendly. In Germany, recent governmental measures helped more than a million buyers buy new electrical cars and, eventually this has resulted in a 30% reduction in the level of pollution. Moreover, encouraging individuals to use public transport instead of their cars would also help solve these issues. Governments can do that by giving students and elderly discounts when using buses and building new bus and metro stations. In conclusion, while I strongly disagree with the idea of increasing the petrol prices, I believe that there are other positive approaches which if taken could solve the expanding traffic and pollution issues.