The threat of nuclear weapons maintain world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The new benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Nuclear technology has always been, and will most likely remain so in the near future, a controversial topic debated by thousands of people worldwide. As in every debate, some believe nuclear technology offers a plethora of benefits in various aspects to society, while others argue that such technology should have never been developed in the first place. While it is undeniable that both sides have indisputable ideas to defend their premises, the question still remains; does nuclear automation bring forth that many perks that it is worth the harm it leaves in its wake? To start with, nuclear automation definitely aids in the development of the medical field. This automation allows us to detect and treat what used to be incurable illnesses from their early stage, and consequently, increase the chance of survival of the patients. One clear example is the use of nuclear medicine scans that yield more precise information than other diagnostic tests, including the set of potential diseases that have yet to display their symptoms. In short, we can say that the medical field reaps irreplaceable benefits from the use of nuclear machinery. Moreover, nuclear machinery is a boon in industrial growth. With how limited fuels are these days, it is understandable why certain countries will set their eyes on potential energy sources that nuclear machinery proposes. While it is still a non-renewable resource, nuclear fission is thousands of times more efficient than burning fossil fuels. To top it off, nuclear technology opens up a brand-new field dedicated to researching and managing nuclear energy, which in turn, creates ample employment opportunities. That being said, nuclear technology brings mostly profits to the industrial development of a country. On the flip side, we must not forget that nuclear weapons are real threats to world peace. For instance, whenever North Korea tests its nuclear weapons, the whole world holds its breath, fearing that it would be the start of another devastating bloodshed. From this, we can conclude that the advance of nuclear technology in order to create nuclear weapons threatens global tranquillity. Taking everything into account, I would say that the advantages of nuclear technology definitely triumph over its downsides. The main issue seems to lie in the misuse of this versatile tool, and if it is addressed properly, I have no doubt nuclear technology will serve as a powerful stepping stone for humans to live a dynamic life. Therefore, the development of nuclear technology should be encouraged as long as it is kept within moral boundaries to ensure no unfortunate incident happens.