People today are spending more and more time outside of the home. What are the reasons for this trend? What effects is it having on individuals and society?

Human beings have a tendency to do more in their lives. Instead of sitting at home and talking to family, they prefer to spend time outside on various types of activities like dancing, shopping etc. There are many reasons associated with the trend but most contributing of all is the competitive market and intolerance among family. There are some positive and negative effects on society individuals which are discussed below. The economic boom has increased the competition among companies in the market, leading to people spending more time on their workspace while keeping them away from home for a longer duration than in the past. For example, an IT professional spends at least 8 hours of their time in the office,and 3 hours in traffic to commute to the office. As this person has spent half day at the job, they are provided with little time to socialise with family and society. Thus, in one direction a person is gaining financial independence but losing their social nature. Nuclear families are gaining popularity due to individual job locations or businesses. Due to their small size family and more hour at work, they have increased intolerance among themselves. The result is increased activities outside their home like kitty parties, work parties etc. For example, in order to survive in a metropolitan city, both parents have to work leading to little time for their children and between themselves, leading to a lack of trust and understanding among each other. Thus, the mental health of the individual is worst affected leading to increased divorce cases, suicides etc. It also has a bad effect on the society as well. In conclusion, people's lives are improving nowadays with better health care and more leisure activities but increased office timings and tolerance among themselves led to mental issues in the long run. The public should emphasise work-life balance rather than only financial independence. Life without money is difficult but money without life is useless in every possible way.