Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Society is divided between two groups, one which opines that arguments between children and elders are an important part of adulthood, while others argue that it causes more harm than good. In my opinion, the latter proposition seems to be more rational and this essay will elaborate both views in the upcoming paragraphs leading to a suitable conclusion. Initiating with the points supporting the first school of thought, teenagers go through a lot while growing up physically, emotionally and mentally and thus, it is indispensable that the anger and confusion need to be released. Although, promoting conflicts between guardians and children is not an accurate way to handle things but sometimes this helps them get rid of the stress. To cite an example, while choosing the college for my higher studies, I and my parents had a disagreement, however, a heated argument resulted in both of the parties understanding each other’s concerns and helped me take a better decision. On the contrasting side, people with other opinions say that such conflicts create a sense of tension between children and elders which often creates a cold war between generations. Moreover, they start treating their guardians as enemies and to get rid of situations like these they tend to follow not-so-holistic routes such as drugs and crimes. In my opinion, these fights ought to be avoided by creating a trustworthy surrounding in the house where kids can rely on the elders irrespective of the situation. For instance, if a child wants to spend a late night with friends, instead of creating a scene and picking a fight, a responsible parent would do a background check on his company and then choose an appropriate step. To conclude, youngsters do have arguments with their parents over petty things like relationships, freedom and so on, however, it is believed that these conflicts have more drawbacks than benefits and I agree with this notion. I believe that the aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.