The debate exists on whether young people should have the freedom to select their own profession or if they should adopt a pragmatic approach, considering their future more seriously. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some are of the opinion that upon graduation students should choose the profession of their choice. However, few folks contradict this idea and suggest they should select a career that will give them financial stability and career growth. I will discuss both the ideas and conclude my point of view. Firstly, today's youngsters are very ambitious and are crystal clear in what they want to pursue as a career because they have access to enormous amounts of information and resources. Hence, they tend to be very confident in their decisions and are reluctant to alter their choice for other's sake. Secondly, there are a plethora of options to earn an income. In today's day and age, there is no compulsion to go to the office and perform sedentary work. Working has become virtual irrespective of the department. Thanks to advancements in technology. For example, a recent survey performed by the Happy-Workers website concluded that people who had the freedom to choose their profession excel more in their department as they are more dedicated towards their crafts. Also, they are the happiest workforce. On the contrary, some advise that after education, one must choose a traditional 9-5 job which, offers a steady source of income and security. The reason for this idea is because, it offers minimal risk as, they are aware of the outcomes of their job. In order to put "bread and butter on the table" one should have a constant source of income. To exemplify, the Times of India conducted a survey asking 50 men & women if they would leave their sedentary jobs for their dream jobs. More than 95% answered no, because they are unsure of the outcome they will reap out of their dream job and they can not lose what they have for the unknown fairy. Overall, I believe, one must choose security and stability in order to live hassle-free life. However, If there is no commitment on the horizon, people can opt occupation of their choice. After all, life is short and one needs to have the freedom to choose what one wants to become at the same time one should also have realistic and secure future plans.