These days mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world is a global village, many thanks to technological advancements. One of which is the advent of portable handsets and the internet. They have completely changed the way humans communicate with one another, especially on an informal level. I am of the opinion mobile phones have provided net-positive benefits for humanity despite the negativity attached to them. For instance, in the olden days, we had to send letters to our friends, family and other loved ones. These letters usually took weeks or even months to get to their intended destinations. In more recent times, checking in on people we care about has become instant. This is a main advantage. You can send a message and the other party receives it as quickly as a second after! This has revolutionised communication. You are able to be a part of important events such as birthdays, weddings, graduations and so on of the people close to us. Mobile phones have helped us be a part of their lives with little stress. However, on the flip side, the excessive use of mobile devices and the internet has caused many of us to be wholly dependent. This represents a key drawback as it has even taken a toll on the way we relate with people in real life. Many medical conditions, for example, anxiety and depression have been directly linked to being addicted to our phones and being chronically online. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. This is particularly because we can be more disciplined and cautious in the way we use these handsets. Doing this can greatly prevent many of the downsides associated with it. The world has advanced so much that it is practically impossible to imagine a world where it would take months to send a "How are you?" to a loved one.