The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, has great influence in shaping people's ideas and their minds.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer.

Humans nowadays consume a lot of content across various communications channels. These include television, radio, and newspapers. A popular adage, "You are what you eat" plays out very nicely in this scenario. In addition to this, another popular saying, "The eyes are the mirror of the soul" strongly applies in this context. I strongly believe that consuming all of this content has shaped who we are as humans. One example to support this is a report by a globally acclaimed research institution. In this report, it was stated that 80% of the people who were used in the survey, mirrored the temperaments of the kind of content they ingested. Additionally, the survey results further revealed that many women who grew up to be feminists attributed it to many feminist authors they read and watched growing up. Again, we are a product of our immediate environments and our immediate environment constitutes the things we hear, watch and read. Some other people do not agree with this school of thought though. They believe that humans are inherently born with certain attributes and that these traits form who we grow up to be. They believe that the major contributor to shaping people's ideas and minds is genetics. However, I do not agree with this opinion. We have seen several instances where children born of the same parents, who grew up in similar conditions turn out to be very different individuals with values of their own. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that everything we ingest in various forms makes us who we are. It is also the age-old argument of nature versus nurture and I believe nurture is the most important factor.