A recent newspaper article reports that a 14 year old boy, who seriously damaged his school, got a punishment to clean streets instead of being sent to the prison. Do you think young criminals should be sent to prison or should alternative forms of punishment be used?

It can see an upward trend for youth crime in many countries, which has caught the public's attention. Therefore advocates opine that it is better to put teen offenders behind bars. However, from my perspective, there are better measures to punish juvenile criminals, instead of imprisonment. Alternative punitive methods like community service are more effective than confinement if young offenders are strictly supervised. Juveniles have a highly impressionable mind and they easily get influenced by their companies. For example, they are more likely to be accompanied by adult criminals who are professional and experienced in jail, therefore they may be induced to commit severer crimes later. Moreover, they are at an exceptionally high risk of getting treated violently while serving a sentence. Jail terms may harden a convict against society as a result of the brutal treatment they might receive. Consequently, it might not be the most effective way to reform juvenile criminals. By contrast, if the young law-breakers can serve the community rather than being imprisoned, they are able to embrace an opportunity to rehabilitate. On the other hand, after being published for breaking laws, they will have second thoughts before recommitting crimes. Furthermore, a criminal record can make them difficult to land a decent job after being released, which, in a bid to make a living, could be a major contributor to reoffending. After all the aim of the punishment per se is to deter the youth from engaging in delinquencies and violating laws, which should be implemented wisely. In conclusion, juveniles are too young to have a deep understanding of the repercussions of criminal acts, most of which thus are hormone-fueled and unintentional that are worth forgiving. Under no circumstance do we take the prison sentence as the only way to prevent juvenile crimes, yet more alternatives should be taken into consideration.