In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages giving children this message?

In many cultures, hardworking has been known as a moral principle and educated for children. Despite the fact that making efforts plays a key role to be successful, there is no guarantee to achieve your goals because of numerous unpredictable barriers in this way. Therefore, although this attitude can be very beneficial, it has some drawbacks which I will mention in the following: Making efforts has a huge number of benefits for both individuals and societies. First of all, It makes children productive. When a child attempts, their brain would be more active and find solutions for each issue. For instance, a studious student is more likely to produce science or be an effective person in the community. After that, this perspective brings hope to the future. Although industrious students should tolerate lots of obstacles, they know that it is valuable. For example, the more students try, the better results they achieve. Consequently, students make more efforts to obtain brilliant scores in their exams. In contrast, being dependent on the result makes children conditional. To illustrate, if an offspring were taught that with each effort a prize will be given to them, they would learn these two things are correlative and expect a gift for every achievement. Moreover, this way of thinking can have another negative impact. When parents teach their children how to live, they should point out external factors which are unexpected and not under our control. They should know how to cope and continue their way despite the existence of these barriers and never give up. However, if this point does not consider, they would be disappointed and hopeless. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, this point of view has both pros and cons. What is important is, the next generation should learn that hardworking is a value and insist on their goals even in tough situations.