Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

It is often argued that a certain sentiment of competition among children should be grown while others claim that youth education should be focused on cooperation instead as it can be more fruitful. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of both perspectives and will conclude, that the spirit of cooperation brings a more positive effect on a child’s personality development. On the one hand, we live in a highly competitive society, where only those who do not hesitate to tackle daily challenges are motivated to succeed. In this social context, we are often forced to compete with others to excel. The pressure of success is also felt in most school activities, specifically in sports education. Competitiveness can be healthy for children, under the condition that feedback is given to them and that winning is not always an end in itself. However, from my perspective of view, currently, education puts a great amount of pressure on young schoolchildren, deviating from the original and making them unhappy and stressed in the end. Consequently, raising children to constantly strive for achievement and merit does not directly lead to excellence, on the contrary, there might be a risk of creating high levels of anxiety and developing a depressive disorder. On the other hand, helping each other and cooperating are important social skills that can come from early contact. When pupils participate in collaborative groups, they learn important social and emotional skill sets, such as supporting each other and how to solve problems together. A great example is sports competitions, where the goal for children is to make friends and socialize with their peers. Moreover, they enhance an art of communication among them, that includes care and empathy. Therefore, in my honest opinion, building a safe environment with mutual trust and a sense of belonging is going to shape a more respectful society. Besides, the main goal in early childhood is to make friends, have fun, and discover the world. As far as I am concerned, cooperation through social learning activities is crucial for children ’s personal development. In conclusion, competition can lead to an unhealthy chase of constant success and eventually to anxiety, while cooperation, on the other hand, can have extremely positive effects; children learn to communicate effectively, trust others, and accept those who are different from them. I strongly believe that It is having adequate skills to be competitive is an asset, but it is also necessary to learn how to be cooperative and supportive.