Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as redidential areas for the growing population or to develop business and boost economies To what extend do you agree or disagree with this?

Nowadays, many are of the belief that public parks should be replaced with other constructions to address increasing population and economic development. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea, which will be further discussed in the following essay. First of all, public parks are irreplaceable because they improve the environment and people ’s well-being. On the one hand, the trees there greatly help refresh the air, reduce temperature, and maintain moisture. In addition, they can also be home to many animals such as birds, squirrels, and insects, which ensure an ecological balance in urban areas. On the other hand, parks also provide open spaces for local residents, which are not only ideal for relaxing and exercising but also for community activities and social gatherings. Of equal benefit, public parks make cities look prettier and more lively. Because having excessive concrete buildings can make such metropolitans look mundane and tiring, public parks can create a balance between man-made constructions and natural sites, thus making people feel less stressed. Therefore, parks are definitely beneficial and it would be a big loss to replace them with other infrastructures. However, some may argue that public parks often contain homeless people, robbers and drug addicts, which can affect cities’ beauty as well as safety. Hence, replacing these places with apartments or offices can prevent this phenomenon for good. Although this point bears some truths on the surface, it pales in how it can be solved by the authorities. Indeed, there are measures that governments have taken to prevent such people from violating the safety of parks, ranging from having supervision at any time of the day to imposing strict rules and punishments to prevent potential offenders. In addition, the authorities also listen to local people ’s feedback about illegal activities on a regular basis to apply appropriate measures towards them. As a result, this keeps the law offenders away from disturbing the parks as well as keeping people at ease whenever they come there. In conclusion, I am against the opinion that public park spaces should be used for dealing with growing populations and business development because they help keep the environment clean, improve people ’s quality of life as well as make urban areas more beautiful and vivid.