(Dri)With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

From the primitive era, humans needed to communicate with each other to be understood. Since then, it is undeniable that we can communicate in different ways. Nowadays, The number of people using online platforms to communicate has skyrocketed. However, Social media is taking its place at this moment of the fast velocity of the internet. Though we have Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp, Telegram and Twitter other platforms are arising every year. Those instruments to reach out to the person are more than useful, because we can not wait a lot of days to get in touch with other people. By the way, if I need to send a message immediately to someone I just do a login into my account on Instagram and go to the right bar to search for my friend and send him or her a text message, audio or video in the same moment. If my friend is connected to the internet, the message will be raised for her immediately. Moreover, we just need to be careful not to spend much time having access to social media, because it brings a lot of consequences. For example, time that I could be in a leisure moment of relationship together with my family, the entertainment of the internet allows disturbing and it brings neglecting of how important that moment with my family represent to me. Arguing about news, from my point of view, is not necessary to forwait the news on certain programs on television to be informed about what is happening across the world, Twitter is becoming the most popular platform for news in the latest age of information. It is very simple to be informed by Twitter related to the notice of catastrophes, politicians, the economy, agriculture, health and other topics instantly. To sum up, using those kinds of tools with conscience will bring the quality of life for us and other people around us.