In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, there are more and more youngsters who decide to spend a gap year to work or travel before attending university. Personally, I believe that the pros of this idea outweigh the cons. Despite the fact that I stick to the idea that young people should spend time exploring the world after finishing their studies in high school, there are still benefits to the opposing view. For instance, it is a worldwide acknowledgement that students need to go to university right after they graduated from high school. If they were to keep on that conventional path, they would not feel like dropping behind their counterparts. Hence, some negative feelings such as disappointment or frustration will not appear in their mind. Moreover, they may have earlier opportunities to figure out whether the majors are suitable for themselves. On the other hand, there are a large number of advantages when it comes to investing a gap year before entering a university. Firstly, young people may have opportunities to gain a variety of information in different aspects. For example, they can visit a lot of countries and meet people of different nationalities. Thus, these can inform them about some cultural knowledge. Secondly, accumulating working experience in advance not only deepens youngsters' understanding of their profession but also gives advantages to them. Therefore it may lead them to a better score compared with other students. In my conclusion, although there are some benefits for young people who enter university directly after they graduate. I believe that it is better for them to spend a year on other activities.