Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling…) Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the current trend of working at any location has been a common sight these days. Some claim that the main drawback is that the efficiency of working might be reduced. However, others argue that the principal advantages are the wider job opportunities given to disabled people and the protection of the environment. On the one hand, the major disadvantage of working outside their companies is that workers will be less productive. That is, people tend not to focus on their work at home and rather spend their time being family members or friends or concentrating on their hobbies. Moreover, this leads to the incompletion of their work, which conversely brings them more stress. It has been reported that most workers who do teleworking are likely to procrastinate their tasks and become less productive. On the other hand, information technology will provide people with physical problems with more career opportunities. Since those people do not need to commute, no time and effort are needed for them on moving. There is no doubt that this development in technology leads to equal chances for everyone. In addition, there will be less pollution in the environment. This is because there will be fewer cars and other types of vehicles on the roads, which leads to a decrease in the amount of fossil fuels, resulting in cleaner air and nature. In conclusion, it seems that there are more benefits of working in spite of locations than drawbacks. It is an information technology that makes people become more actively participate in the workforce and less corruption to the ecology.