Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A significant number of individuals these days decide to work for themselves instead of being employed by others. This essay discusses the motives for this and also the drawbacks of this choice of career There are two main reasons for this phenomenon. The main one is that people feel motivated to become entrepreneurs. This is because they see running their own businesses as an exciting challenge. For instance, I was bored with my regular job teaching at a school so I started my own online IELTS teaching company in order to have a more stimulating workday. In addition, running your own business can lead to better long-term career prospects. If someone works hard at their business and develops enthusiastically satisfied customers they will be deriving all the benefits rather than passing these on to an employer. However, running one's own business has its drawbacks. The biggest downside is the risk of venturing out on your own. If the business is not successful there will be no income. For instance, my uncle opened a restaurant, but it turned out his cooking skills were not as good as he thought and he could not attract enough customers to pay all his bills and finally, he became bankrupt. As well as this, it can be extremely stressful to run a business. This can often be due to the lack of resources to help the owner with issues such as the need to run a dedicated website In conclusion, many people are venturing out on their own due to their interest in running their own business and believing that they will have a better career. However, it should be kept in mind that this can be risky and stressful. Therefore, this type of career is not suited to all people