People do not read newspapers anymore. Do you think its a positive or negative trend?

It is widely believed that people do not read newspapers anymore. Personally, I strongly think it's negative with this view for a variety of reasons. First of all, people may not know anything about them. This means that they don' t know situations about politics, the environment or new policies from the government etc. In fact, they may make something wrong, when they didn' t update enough of the information. For example, my friend, doesn' t read the news from the government about a new insurance policy. They asked for more requirements to submit the document, but he didn’ t read that update from the newspaper. Thus, he didn’ t know the new rule and when he went to the insurance office to do as before, the officer refused and didn' t do it for him. Furthermore, people may hear a piece of fake news news, but they couldn' t clarify by themself. This is because they didn' t follow some information from the newspapers. In fact, they are led in the wrong direction. For example, my brother heard some news about the senate, which did some things in my hometown, and his friends told him that the senate is really bad, because he did some bad things. However, he just listen from his friend and didn’ t clarify from the newspaper. In conclusion, nowadays, people do not read newspapers anymore is negative. Because they might didn’ t take care of something. In my opinion, I think we need to encourage people to read more newspapers. So that they can catch the news and understand more about the situation surrounding them.