In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although maternity leave is thought by some people to be beneficial for the physical and mental health of mothers, others think that it can be detrimental. In my opinion, I consider that maternity leave can bring about more advantages to women compared to any downsides it might bring. Despite the disadvantages below, I believe the benefits gained by mothers having a long holiday are undoubtedly useful for their physical and emotional health. Firstly, mothers can stay at home and have more time to recover from health issues after giving birth. This is an important process as it is helpful for mothers to regain physical strength and to be fully prepared to return to their original positions. Secondly, women can establish a closer parent-child relationship in this period of time, leading to a satisfaction of emotional needs from mothers and babies and a solid attachment to the baby. This is a valuable component for early child development. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when women take a long leave after they give birth to children. One downside is that it might cause a shortage of human resources in job markets. For example, in Hong Kong, generally employers have to hire extra staff to compensate for the loss of manpower, which will cause an extra financial burden of employers. However, this situation only lasts for a short period of time. Another negative impact is that the employment opportunities of women might be affected due to the maternity protection. In other words, it might be possible for the company to avoid hiring women due to the potential cost they might bring.  In conclusion, the tremendous advantages that women can enjoy are extremely helpful for physical health and parental relationship while the downsides are negligible, supporting that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.