In some contries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In several countries, more people are concerned in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. The reason behind this trend is because they want to know if their building is categorised as historical building or not. They can get the information by interviewing the oldest person living in the neighbourhood. People want to know the story of their building mostly for historical reason. It can be because it will benefit them in the future. For example historical building is usually have higher price on sale. The old building usually has unique design that some people may find it interesting, and they can spend a fortune to have it. Some people want to keep it because they want to preserve the building as national treasure. The information that is needed including its previous owner, when it was built and what was the purpose of the building. By having this information the current owner can decide what they want to do with the building. The best way to gather information is by talking to the oldest person living in the neighbourhood. Senior citizens usually live in the same area their whole lives so they can give valuable information about the building. However that old neighbours tend to forget some of the details. If its the case then we can go to city council and ask for the city planning map. This way we can compile the data and have more reliable information. In conclusion, if we know the history of the building, it makes us appreciate the its value even more.