Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign langugae is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone shsould learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are different views about the main reasons for studying a foreign language whether to trip and to get a job abroad or other reasons. This essay will elaborate on both views and I personally believe that other reasons why people learn foreign languages besides the aforementioned reasons are worth considering. On the one hand, learning a foreign language is one of the requirements that should be fulfilled when people want to take a trip and get a job abroad. For example, TOEFL IBT is one of the language requirements when Indonesian want to work in English-speaking countries, like the USA. Consequently, people who want to pursue a professional career abroad will learn a foreign language until they get a qualified score. Furthermore, it would be engaging when people have the plan to travel abroad and they understand the language. This means that they can interact with local citizens without a language barrier. On the other hand, there are two other reasons why individuals learn other languages. Firstly, studying in higher education is one of the reasons why people study a foreign language really hard as they should fulfil the language requirements set by their targeted university. By mastering a foreign language, they will also survive in academic demands of the university. Secondly, expanding the network is also another reason why people learn other languages. The advancement of technology made the reason possible to achieve. People who connect with other citizens around the world via social media would be more engaged when they understand their social media friends’ languages. To sum up, I believe that learning a foreign language is not only a superficial reason to travel and to work. Building relationships with foreigners and studying at a higher level are the other reasons that should be considered.