Your class has attended a panel discussion on how to influence people to be more environmentally friendly. You have made the notes below: Ideas for influencing people to be more environmentally friendly: laws and taxes •education media Sorne opinions expressed in the discussion:

Nowadays we are much more aware and alert about the planet’s health, nevertheless climate change is an increasingly worrying subject that has only grown over the years. In this essay I will discuss two possible options that can influence people to be more environmentally friendly. Firstly, the government should implement taxes that punish hazardous actions towards the planet, like polluting and littering, as well as not recycling properly. This way people will think twice before doing so, and the money paid can work as funding for counteractive forces. In addition, laws should be implemented, these are necessary for setting a new rulebook regarding the fight against climate change. Because, at the end of the day, how can we expect people to be caring about the planet if there aren’t any official norms?. Moreover, the government could, for example, motivate people to use alternative options to polluting vehicles by providing funding to benign options. Secondly, environmental awareness should be implemented from an early age. If children have good role models they will grow up to be ones themselves, therefore, parents and teachers are responsible for the kid's learning and morals. For instance, school’s should impart classes and talks dedicated fully to understanding these issues, like engaging courses that motivate children to recycle, buy responsibly, use public transport, etc. In conclusion, even though I believe both of these options to be an incentive to engage people environmentally, I think governmental actions hold the key to this pressing issue.