Many people use written language in less formal and relaxed way. Does this development have advantages and disadvantages?

Now more and more people like to use written language in an informal way rather than an official one. Public concern has arisen about the potential detriment brought about by this phenomenon. Personally, I am not too optimistic about its result. Firstly, I will see the trend of informal written expression on formal occasions as a symptom of a fast-paced society which pursues high-effective lifestyles. With the development of the city, especially in urban cities, people must find a method that accelerates the process of quick questioning, comprehension and handling to solve the contingency. As time goes by, they could be used to adopt easy utterances in a normal way. For instance, there are some messages in email, which are commonplace, like ‘FYI’, ‘ASAP’, ‘BTW’, and ‘AFAIK’. As for the implications of casual writing in official situations, it is difficult for me to see it as anything other than disrespect in professional settings. Some might say it is the solution to a growing workload, which raises work efficiency. Those advocates are oblivious to the ambiguity of the term ‘benefit to communication’, which is a variable concept subject to various factors, such as attributes of specific circumstance and their relevance to disparate demands. In this aspect, the discussion can then move on to which diction of particular occasions are more desirable in the current context. One typical example can be found in common business occasions, like job interviews and high-level documents. Prior ones are given an impression that you are trustworthy and are more likely to be hired. Latter, one shows that you treat it seriously and are more likely to make a deal. In conclusion, it seems to me that despite any merit influences of relaxed written words, there are more harmful parts brought about by this tendency.