What are the possible advantages and drawbacks of being a professional athlete?

Choosing sports as a profession could be beneficial, but it might have some disadvantages. The possible advantages of being a professional athlete include the possibility to get good money and journeys to different places in the world, whilst there could be a negative impact on health and a short career in sport. A key advantage of being a professional athlete is a chance to make enough money assuring a very comfortable life for yourself. Good athletes earn money not only from different competitions, additionally, they can get huge incomes from advertisement contracts with different brands. Besides, sportsmen have a unique opportunity to see the world participating in numerous competitions. Almost everyone loves travelling, but only a few professions include travelling as a routine, and professional athletics is one of them. Some children, especially from poor families or countries start their sports career to get the ability for travelling. For example, Vladimir Klichko, a former boxer, told at the PMI seminars when he was a speaker that he started his race in sport only because of the possibility to go to other cities and countries. However, big achievements in sports are usually accompanied by traumas or sicknesses. Professional athletics demands huge efforts from people and they often injure something or their organs start working with failure because of the big pressure on them. Moreover, their active period in sports can be very short. Due to an inability to stay in good condition which is crucial for leading in sport for a long time just a very few athletes can continue their career until their forties. For example, in figure skating sportsmen at an age after 25 are counted as old, and most of them have been finishing to participate in sports competitions by this age. In conclusion, although being a professional athlete can bring great benefits such as a wealthy life and travelling around the globe, health damage and very limited time for creating a career negatively affect a person's life.