In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Online meetings and interactions have supplanted interpersonal communication among the staff in a working environment. While there are a number of disadvantages to holding meetings online such as the lack of interpersonal bonds between coworkers, I would argue that the benefits of using online communication outweigh the costs since it could be a positive development towards the convenience of employees as well as being advantageous for the environment. Critics of using online platforms for business conversations contend that these platforms are detrimental to building human bonds. Using these on a daily routine ensures a decline in the intimacy level of coworkers as they would rarely converse about anything apart from subjects related to the company or work whereas for being closely bonded with each other sharing these personal details are invaluable. Hence, by conducting meetings online and lowering the amount of face-to-face interaction, the level of closeness between employees would be decreased. However, communicating via these modern platforms have significant merits. First of all, this way of meeting is miraculously convenient for the staff to attend to. They have to neither commute to the workplace in order to participate nor ignore their family’s responsibilities, like taking care of their children, to be in those meetings. For instance, during the covid pandemic, those who work remotely from home could easily participate in any work meeting whilst doing all their housework by themselves. By contrast, workers who were forced to be at the workplace, suffer from the lack of time and energy to do their family chores. Secondly, online platforms have given society the opportunity to resolve environmental problems. Less commuting due to the use of these platforms, can reduce the overall amount of carbon emission in the air and eventually, alleviates the problem of global warming. One of the Covid 19's effects on the environment, for example, was a large drop in the level of carbon emission, which was as a consequence of jobs being shifted online. The more we use online communication, the better it is for the environment. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages to online interaction namely a drop in the level of employees' intimacy, the advantages of it are indeed more convincing as it provides the staff with a more convenient working situation and further, less environmental damage through commuting to work.