The popularity of news media often has been significantly influential in people's lives. Some people believe this to be a negative development. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with their opinion

Pessimists believe that newspapers and television channels that broadcast current affairs impose an adverse influence on society these days. While the view makes sense to a certain extent, I personally believe that it tends to be more positive than negative. News outlets have swayed society in many positive ways. First, the usefulness of the media, which provides information almost instantaneously, is undeniable. It gives one a feeling that they belong to a small global village. Secondly, it fills up the gap between the government and the people. Most people would never meet a prime minister or president in their lives, but anyone regularly watching the news or reading newspapers would undoubtedly know about them. Furthermore, the media plays an essential role in spreading different cultures and lifestyles to the modern world. Today, the popularity of exotic cultures and traditions across the globe is the best possible example of the enormous impact. For example, readers can easily have access to acquire knowledge about other civilizations where it is at the opposite end of the planet, thus gaining a better understanding of each other. Regardless of the benefits from it, it has many drawbacks regarding the trend. It is a deadly weapon for spreading fake news, directly impacting personal lives. For example, some celebrities suffer from depression due to the rumours spread in their names. Moreover, there are contents like violence, or prostitution, which are unsuitable for children. They get easily tempted by those, which affects their mental stability. Thus children must have limited access to these. It can also make many of us addicted to it, thereby wasting a great amount of time and effort on something that is less important. In conclusion, the new ways of spreading information grow in importance with time passing, which, although contribute negatively to our society in some aspects, it does more good than harm.