[Переслано от Асадбек] In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Encouraging kids to pursue their dreams by working hard is a strong spread philosophy applied in many different societies. This essay will discuss some pros and cons of how this theory might impact the little ones. First of all, it must be considered that children's minds are very fragile, that is to say, the messages they receive can have a significant impact on their development. An advantage of encouraging them from an early age to work hard for their goals is that it sets a sense of self-sufficiency and a positive vision of themselves. For example, if a little boy is into tennis, he will think that the more he plays the better he will become and certainly he will as a result of practising. Hence, this mindset will motivate and put him ahead of his competitors which at the same time will reinforce this thought and his self-value. On the other hand, one disadvantage of brainwashing kids to convey all their strength to reach their goals could lead them to frustration and consequently to mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. For instance, if the same junior tennis player rehearsed to exhaustion and gave his best during the training but did not end up winning the tournament, the feelings of frustration can diminish his own vision of himself. Thus, it is necessary to set realistic expectations to avoid impacting the mental health of youngsters. Finally to sum up, pushing individuals to maximise their efforts in order to attain their goals is a good practice if real expectations are set, otherwise it might have an opposite effect that could negatively impact their state of mind leading to problems of anxiety and low self-esteem.